Wolfram Brandl violin
Christophe Horak violin
Rachel Schmidt violin
Micha Afkham viola
Claudio Bohórquez cello
Peter Riegelbauer double bass
Alexander Bader clarinet
Markus Weidmann bassoon
Stefan de Leval Jezierski French horn

Founded in 1983 by members of the Berlin Philharmonic, the Scharoun Ensemble has enjoyed an international following for over a quarter of a century. An ensemble of variable formation, it works regularly with composers of our time and has played under the baton of Claudio Abbado, Sir Simon Rattle, Daniel Barenboim, Daniel Harding and Pierre Boulez. Their name refers to the architect of the Berlin Philharmonie, home to the eight musicians: this unique hall, conceived by Hans Scharoun (1893–1972), synthesizes innovation and traditional values, opening the way to a new means of artistic communication. It is precisely these ideals that the Scharoun Ensemble strive to defend with their music.

The Scharoun Ensemble has been in residence at the Zermatt Music Festival & Academy since the Festival was founded in 2005.

For further information on the ensemble, please click here.